Skip to content

Google Earth is not running on Linux

July 18, 2010

Today I have tried to install Google Earth on my laptop (running on Ubuntu 10.4). And I cant do it. On google earth site you have version for linux. And I downloaded, installed it, and tried it. I got error that it totally unknown for me.

Fatal error in __driConfigOptions line 1, column 0: unknown encoding.
Google Earth has caught signal 6.

First, I thought that is problem with my driver for 3d rendering (in previous version of Ubuntu there was 3d rendering performance issue with Intell graphic card). But in 10.4 that is solved and I have solid performance for 3d rendering.

I found this topic on google support forum where people  had same problem but on different linux distributions. Now, I really don’t know why google provide google earth version for linux that produce so many problems to run.

There are also the second way to install google earth, downloading source for debian package googleeart (something like that) and build it. I have tried that too and got same error.

From → ubuntu

3 Comments
  1. pererik87 permalink

    You have to completely remove it from your system. Then add the medibuntu repostory then opdate the list and do a sudo apt-get install googleearth

    • drndy permalink

      Thank you very much for your comment. I will try it next week (and post it) cause I am very busy now. The main problem is why Google provide linux users with version of Google Earth which they cannot install?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Google Earth is running on Linux « Ivan Doskovic's blog

Leave a Reply

